About Us

Randolph County Recycling District

Was created in 1996 to assist residents of Randolph County, Indiana to reduce, reuse, recycle and properly dispose of solid waste. The District provides disposal of household hazardous waste at Pollution Solution and community collection sites for recycling. Our funding is through a host fee agreement with Best Way/Randolph Farms.

Our Mission

Striving to help our community reduce waste, reuse creatively, recycle right, respect the earth and rethink sustainability through community outreach and environmental education programs. Have county wide access to recycling services and opportunities to properly dispose of household hazardous waste.

Our Staff

  • Director — Shanda Solomon
  • Community Outreach Coordinator — Tonia Williams

Board of Directors

Board meetings are open to the public. Held on the first Monday of every month at 1:00 p.m. at 105 W. Franklin, Winchester. Unless it falls on a holiday, in which the meeting will be held the following Monday.

  • Gary Girton- Pres.
  • Bob McCoy- Vice Pres.
  • David Lenkensdofer- Acting Treasure
  • Gary Friend
  • Mike Wickersham
  • Jim Nunez Jr.
  • Bob Lahey

Citizens Advisory Committee

The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is a group of representatives from the solid waste industry, environmental groups, educators and citizens of Randolph County who are knowledgeable and interested in environmental issues. The CAC meets twice a year to assist the District in achieving its goals and make program recommendations on waste reduction, recycling, household hazardous waste, community grants and on the yearly budget to the board. If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact the District office!

  • Julie Smiley
  • Shawnda Bond
  • Danny Tinsman
  • Zoe Robinson
  • Payton Shiffler
  • Amy Alka